The Golden Child

Author(s): Wendy James


Can bad children happen to good mothers? A totally absorbing novel, for readers of Liane Moriarty, Lionel Shriver and Christos Tsiolkas. Blogger Lizzy's life is buzzing, happy, normal. Two gorgeous children, a handsome husband, destiny under control. For her real-life alter-ego Beth, things are unravelling. Tensions are simmering with her husband, mother-in-law, and even her own mother. Her teenage daughters, once the objects of her existence, have moved beyond her grasp and one of them has shown signs of, well, thoughtlessness ...Then a classmate of one daughter is callously bullied and the finger of blame is pointed at Beth's clever, beautiful child. Shattered, shamed and frightened, two families must negotiate worlds of cruelty they are totally ill-equipped for. This is a novel that grapples with modern-day spectres of selfies, selfishness and cyberbullying. It plays with our fears of parenting, social media and Queen Bees, and it asks the question: just how well do you know your child? PRAISE FOR WENDY JAMES'S BOOKS 'A wonderful, unputdownable story by a great Australian author' Liane Moriarty, Australian Women's Weekly 'A penetrating picture of our life and times ...a knockout' Canberra Times 'Cunning psychological portraits and clean prose make for an absorbing domestic thriller' The Age 'Brilliant. Such a clever plot, and such real characters, and so very, very well written' Daniell Hawkins

$32.99(AUD) RRP $33.00(AUD)

Available Stock:

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Wendy James is the mother of two sets of siblings born eight years apart, in the digital and pre-digital ages. She is the author of seven novels, including the bestselling The Mistake. Her debut novel, Out of the Silence, won the 2006 Ned Kelly Award for first crime novel, and was shortlisted for the Nita May Dobbie award for women's writing. She works as an editor at the Australian Institute of Health Innovation.

General Fields

  • : 9781460752371
  • : HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • : HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
  • : January 2017
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : Australia
  • : February 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Wendy James
  • : Paperback
  • : 217
  • : en
  • : 352